++ed by:
MJEMMESON POLETTIX DAGOLDEN EMAZEP GARU

66 PAUSE users
49 non-PAUSE users.

Andy Wardley

NAME

Template::Manual::Credits - Author and contributor credits

DESCRIPTION

This section provides a brief history of the Template Toolkit and details the primary author and numerous other people who have contributed to it.

HISTORY

The Template Toolkit began its life as the Text::MetaText module, originally released to CPAN around 1996. This itself was the public manifestation of an earlier template processing system I developed while working at Peritas (now Knowledge Pool - http://www.knowledgepool.com/)

Text::MetaText was the prototype - the one we always planned to throw away. It did the job well, showing us what worked and what didn't, what was good and what was bad, and gave us some ideas about what could be done better, given the chance to start again from scratch.

Some time late in 1998 I threw away the prototype and started work on the Template Toolkit. By then I was working at Canon Research Centre Europe Ltd. (http://www.cre.canon.co.uk), involved in a general research programme related to web publishing and dynamic content generation. The first alpha release was in June 1999, followed by numerous more alpha and beta releases culminating in 1.00 being released on 2nd December 1999.

A month or so later, work had begun on version 2.00. The plan was to get the template language relatively stable in version 1.00 and not worry too much about performance or other internal matters. Then, version 2.00 would follow to improve performance, clean up the architecture and fix anything that, with the benefit of hindsight, we thought could be improved. As it happens, me starting work on version 2.00 coincided with Doug Steinwand sending me his parser variant which compiled templates to Perl code, giving a major performance boost. As well as the speedups, there are a whole host of significant new features in version 2.00, and a greatly improved internal architecture. Apart from a few minor "fixups" the template directives and language have remained the same as in version 1.00

Version 2.00 was available in beta release form in July 2000, just in time for the 4th Perl Conference where version 1.00 was awarded "Best New Perl Module". After another extended beta release period, version 2.00 was released on 1st December 2000.

CONTRIBUTORS

Many people have contributed ideas, inspiration, fixes and features to the Template Toolkit. Their efforts continue to be very much appreciated. Please let me know if you think anyone is missing from this list.

  Chuck Adams               <scrytch@uswest.net>
  Thierry-Michel Barral     <kktos@electron-libre.com>
  Craig Barratt             <craig@arraycomm.com>
  Stas Beckman              <stas@stason.org>
  Neil Bowers               <neilb@cre.canon.co.uk>
  Leon Brocard              <acme@astray.com>  
  Lyle Brooks               <brooks@deseret.com>
  Piers Cawley              <pdcawley@bofh.org.uk>
  Eric Cholet               <cholet@logilune.com>
  Dave Cross                <dave@dave.org.uk>
  Chris Dean                <ctdean@babycenter.com>  
  Francois Desarmenien      <desar@club-internet.fr>
  Horst Dumcke              <hdumcke@cisco.com> 
  Michael Fowler            <michael@shoebox.net>    
  Axel Gerstmair            <anthill@web.de>
  Perrin Harkins            <pharkins@etoys.com>
  Colin Johnson             <colin@knowledgepool.com>
  Vivek Khera               <khera@kciLink.com>
  Rafael Kitover            <caelum@debian.org>
  Hans von Lengerke         <hans@lengerke.org>
  Jonas Liljegren           <jonas@paranormal.se>
  Paul Makepeace            <Paul.Makepeace@realprogrammers.com>
  Simon Matthews            <sam@knowledgepool.com>
  Robert McArthur           <mcarthur@dstc.edu.au>
  Craig McLane              <mclanec@oxy.edu>     
  Leslie Michael Orchard    <deus_x@ninjacode.com>
  Eugene Miretskiy          <eugene@invision.net>
  Chris Nandor              <pudge@pobox.com>
  Martin Portman            <mrp@cre.canon.co.uk>
  Randal L. Schwartz        <merlyn@stonehenge.com>
  Paul Sharpe               <paul@miraclefish.com>
  Doug Steinwand            <dsteinwand@etoys.com>
  Michael Stevens           <michael@etla.org>
  Drew Taylor               <dtaylor@vialogix.com>   
  Swen Thuemmler            <Swen.Thuemmler@paderlinx.de>   
  Richard Tietjen           <Richard_Tietjen@mcgraw-hill.com>
  Jim Vaughan               <jim@mrjim.com> 
  Chris Winters             <cwinters@intes.net>

AUTHOR

Andy Wardley <abw@kfs.org>

http://www.andywardley.com/

VERSION

Template Toolkit version 2.04, released on 29 June 2001.

COPYRIGHT

  Copyright (C) 1996-2001 Andy Wardley.  All Rights Reserved.
  Copyright (C) 1998-2001 Canon Research Centre Europe Ltd.

This module is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the same terms as Perl itself.