Acme::MetaSyntactic::regions - Administrative country subdivisions


Most countries have administrative subdivisions, sometimes more than one level deep. This theme lists the first level of administrative divisions for a number of countries.

Depending on the country, they have differente names: regions, provinces, states, districts, emirates, parishes, dependencies, etc.

The main source for finding lists of regions is the ISO 3166-2 standard (Codes for the representation of names of countries and their subdivisions -- Part 2: Country subdivision code). See


Abigail, Philippe Bruhat (BooK).


  • 2013-07-29 - v1.001

    Abigail cleaned up the US list and added US uninhabited territories, in Acme-MetaSyntactic-Themes version 1.035.

  • 2013-10-22 - v1.000

    Introduced in Acme-MetaSyntactic-Themes version 1.024.

  • 2012-10-02

    After several attempts to fill the list of regions by hand over the previous five months, finally used WWW::Mechanize to scrape all ISO_3166-2:cc pages listed on and Text::Unidecode to turn the names into valid Perl identifiers.

  • 2012-05-10

    Extended the theme idea to administrative regions of any country, and started collecting all region names.

    The default country remains nl.

  • 2005-10-20

    Abigail submitted a netherlands theme, with the names of the Dutch provinces.


Acme::MetaSyntactic, Acme::MetaSyntactic::MultiList.